Life in the Fast Lane

8 02 2009

As of Friday evening, the master cleanse was finished, done, nada.  I was so hungry I could not do it anymore.  I had a strawberry/banana protein smoothie and loved it.  Then some chicken and veggies, and a natural pb on wheat.  My stomach did NOT hurt at all, I was full for the ENTIRE night (b/c I ate at 5pm, went to work at 6pm-plus I hadn’t eaten in 5 days), and my body is thanking me and returning back to normal.  I would say I accomplished a lot, and I’m proud of myself, and proud for stopping it.  With such a busy weekend (630am-3am work day saturday) , the energy was MUCH needed. 

I’ve been doing more and more research and also discussing cleansing pills and other detox diets with my dad, who is a pharmacist and knows about the chemical compounds and reactions of many of these “detox” plans.  Most of them just have a laxative and dieuretic effect and do not work in the long run.  Here is some info I think you should read on the dangers of the master cleanse and how you actually are causing your body to build up more toxins, not less. 

I’ve been thinking about probiotics.  They support healthy bacteria in the colon and are easy to take and follow.  Discussing this with my dad currently.  Its in a lot of yogurts, especially organic, Keifer milk, etc.  It even comes in powder forms you can add to smoothies and juices.  Here are also some natural ways to detox your body:

“I’ve discussed the dangers of the Master Cleanse and despite claims to the contrary the Master Cleanse will cause a build up of toxins. If you want to “detox” your body it’s really quite simple; eat more unprocessed fruits and veggies. The most potent detoxifying foods you can eat are cruciferous veggies such as broccoli, arugula, cabbage, bok choy, radish, etc. That peppery taste you find in these veggies are the good stuff, namely the organosulfur compounds that help rev up your liver. Other foods that also contain these beneficial compounds include oninons and garlic. These compounds help create the most important antioxidant in your body, glutathione. It is this super antioxidant that is responsible for the major liver de-toxification duties. So remember the best way to detox and cleanse is to eat more veggies and fruits. Save your bowels and use the cayenne pepper and lemon juice for your next recipe.”

That being said, I did a ton of shopping at Sprouts yesterday, the organic food stores everywhere here, and I feel really good.  Lots of whole grains, lean meats, lunch meats without nitrates or preservatives, probiotic yogurt, fresh fruits and veggies, and natural foods such as chips with no added ingredients, natural soups, etc.  Some things might take more prep work, but its worth it and its worth the little extra money spending on it (hey, thats why I’m working more right?).  I will now be doing more “sprouts” shopping and less regular grocery store shopping.  Except for basics like milk, eggs, etc.  Drinking lots more natural teas and things that are good for me are high on the list as well.  I can’t wait to start this week off the natural way and get back to my routine.  I might even take a yoga class 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

