Natural sweetness and goodness

10 02 2009

truviaSince this new wave of health has arrived I’ve been even considering a new sweetener.  I currently use Splenda but have not used it as often b/c I still have mixed feelings about them all.  I’ve tried natural Stevia but have not always enjoyed the taste.  Well now there is a new sweetener called “Truvia” which is derived from the stevia plant.  Its not organic, but it is all natural.  You can go here to find out more about it.  I’m excited to find it at the store next time I go! 

I’m making a chicken recipe again that I have made last month.  It was so good I have to try it again.  I got it out of the Women’s Health magazine. 

Moroccan Stewed Chicken

1lb boneless/skinless chicken breasts

1 large zucchini cut into cubes

1 can of garbanzo beans (I just use any white beans)

1 can diced tomatoes

Chopped fresh cilantro (which I happen to have b/c I just made homemade salsa)

1/2 TBSP olive oil, 1 c chicken stock or water, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp cinnamon (yes cinnamon its wonderful in this)

1) Put oil in skillet, season chicken with salt and black pepper and cook in pan until browned, 2-3 minutes per side.  Add zucchini and continue cooking, stirring often. 

2) When zucchini pieces have browned lightly, add beans, tomatoes, chicken stock, cayenne, cumin, and cinnamon.  Turn heat to low and simmer until chicken is tender and cooked through, 10-15 minutes.  Season to taste with more salt and pepper, garnish with cilantro, chopped. 

Makes 4 servings.  Per serving: 424 cal., 15 g fat (3sat), 41g carbs, 614mg sodium, 7g fiber, 31g protein. 

OPTIONL: cook cous cous and serve on the side.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 02 2009
Liz

Hi Steph-
I also have found that Stevia has a strange taste… but that it works well when I’m cooking a dish that calls for a little sugar. I put a few drops in homemade spaghetti sauce & it does the trick. I’m still looking for other ways to use up the bottle of stevia I have.
Liz

11 02 2009
jenifriend

it’s funny, my friend kristi (deb’s sister) blogged about splenda just the other day…perhaps today even…take a look at it when you get the chance. she’s under ‘god’s gentle nurturer’ on my blog.

23 02 2009
Lindsey

Hey great recipe! I tried it tonight and it’s great! I added whole roasted garlic cloves, too. But, I love garlic despite the damage to my breath for days to come!

Leave a Reply

