Kung Pao Chicken

14 04 2009

Making this tonight, got it out of the Oxygen magazine in January of 2008!  Just cleaned out all my old magazine and just kept the recipes I wanted, really I’m not a packrat…anymore. 

Ingredients:

1 lb boneless/skinless chix breast

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2c chopped green onion (i’m using regular onion)

2tsp minced garlic

2tsp crushed hot red pepper

1 tbsp chopped fresh ginger

1/2 tbsp cornstarch

2tbsp rice wine

1/4c low sodium soy sauce (bragg!!)

2tbsp rice vinegar

1tsp sugar (splenda)

2tsp sesame oil

1/4 c peanuts, raw

4 cups cooked brown rice

1) cut chix into bite size pieces and cook with oil in skillet.  Remove and set aside

2) add onion, garlic, pepper and ginger and stir fry 20 seconds or so

3) In small bowl, dissolve cornstarch in rice wine; stir in soy sauce, vinegar, sugar, and sesame oil and add to pan.  Cook, stirring until sauce thickens. 

5) stir in the peanuts and serve over brown rice. 

Of course, add some veggies to the side to make it a complete meal!  The Bragg soy sauce alternative is wonderful and you would never know the difference!

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 04 2009
jenifriend

one of my 101 in 1001 goals is to organize my recipes. i did the same thing as you, ripping out every recipe known to man. thing is, i don’t even use them half the time anymore. i love the internet and am thinking of saving my favorite recipes in a document on my compter and then finding the link to all of my other favorites online and having a special folder. then i can keep my house paper free (happy eco-friendliness!).

20 04 2009
fitnessbarbie

Well, most of my recipes come from magazines that I already have, so I tore them out, and recycled the rest. I put them in sheet protectors so when I do cook, they can get splatters if need be. All of them I have cooked at least once, if not more. I got it all organized by breakfast, chicken, fish/vegeterian, beef, and desserts. I had one before, let someone borrow it, and then I moved here! 😦

Leave a Reply

