Mexican Chili Relish

5 05 2009

Upon hearing about a Cinco de Mayo BBQ Joey and I were invited to this past weekend, I had to ponder the thought of what to bring.   I immediately said “watermelon” b/c I love juicy fruit on a hot summer day  (summer is here already in AZ, in full swing!).  Apparently, Joey says ” We are not watermelon people” so I had to think of something else.  My mom’s good ole’ recipe for her salsa stands strong to this day!  Was a hit!

( I doubled this recipe and used a ton of tomatoes to stretch it out, actually, I probably do not measure anything)

1 small can chopped olives-do not drain

1 small can diced green chilis-do not drain

2 tomatoes chopped

4 green onions, chopped, including tips

1 Tbsp white wine vinegar

3 Tbsp oil (not olive-I dont use any at all)

salt and pepper to taste

Red pepper and seasoned salt to taste

Cilantro chopped, and garlic salt to taste

Chill before serving and enjoy with your favorite tortilla chips!

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 05 2009
Mom

I made this recipe also last weekend for Fr. Joe’s potluck. I don’t add any salt seasonings at all. I do add garlic powder and this last time I added 2 cans of green chilies.. tasted great!

6 05 2009
jenifriend

so it this a salsa but it’s called relish? i just want to make sure i wasn’t missing a step or misunderstanding…because it sounds delicious and i want to devour it NOW!! 🙂

6 05 2009
fitnessbarbie

Yes, Its a salsa, my mom’s and I love it, I can just eat it plain and that’s what some ppl did! LOL

Leave a Reply

