Half marathon Training

19 09 2009

For 4 weeks now I have been preparing for the San Antonio Rock and Roll Half Marathon…a whopping 13.1 miles (seems so far to me).  I have 8 weeks to go until the big day.  I run here and there, according to my training schedule.  I mix in cycling, weights, etc.  But today was my first long run…7 miles.  It seems so far doesn’t it?  7 miles!  I woke up to rain.  Great, now I have to go run on the treadmill.  I got to the gym and hopped on the woodway (the best treadmill out there).  The first two miles sucked.  I had a cramp in my side and I knew I had 5 more to go.  About mile 4 I felt good, about mile 5 my deodorant was wearing off and I started to feel bad for those around me lol.  But I made it, even walking for about 4 minutes mid way.  I still managed the 7 miles in 64 minutes.  Wow right?  I predicted to end the race in 2 1/2 hours, roughly 10 minute miles.  The way I ran today would be roughly 2 hours, quite an improvement. 

I think a big thing that helped me was running on this:

altgThe Alter G.  Its an anti gravity treadmill.  You put on these neoprene shorts and then zip up inside of it, it fills with air and you can take up to 80% of the weight off your body.  It literally lifts you up as you run so you can run faster.  I ran 4 miles in 30 minutes on it last week if that tells you anything about how much faster you can train.  But do not underestimate the power of the alter g…I was sore the next day.  If anyone can try one, I recommend it.  It’s great for just the average person and for those with injuries. 

I’ve come to realize and finally get it down to a science, what I should eat before I run.  One slice of high fiber wheat bread with one tablespoon LF peanut butter and some honey.  Digests fast but has the carbs to keep me going.  All runners should try! 

Off to recover and elevate my legs!

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 09 2009
jenifriend

this is so cool! i’ve never seen this before. i’ve been working on running more these days…really enjoying it. i took a scoop of pb before i ran on friday and it certainly upped my energy, but i am digging on this bread, pb and honey idea. i’ll be sure to try it on monday when i run again. i’m having trouble finding songs i can listen to that keep the same pace of what i run…can you recommend anything??

19 09 2009
Woody

questionable “science” from Alter-G. Lots of anecdotal evidence and claims, but their “case studies” are nothing more than trial and error recaps from PT’s, not MD’s, not IRB or any clinical trials.

Leave a Reply

